Gaarg! Ripped off by FedGrantUSA.com! Betrayed by Bike Nashbar!
I generally keep an eye on my credit card statements just to watch my spending and make sure nothing funky is going on. Last month, I did notice some serious funk, and not the groovy kind either. A company callling itself FedGrantUSA.com has been charging my credit card without my permission on a recurring monthly basis.
Naturally, I called my credit card company to get these charges revoked. I was successful in blocking these theives from stealing anymore money, but I’m still missing $39.95. The charge showed up as, ” PROFITGGL8882164952(Other). ” Turns out those numbers are their customer service (haha) number. I called it to try and reclaim the money that they plucked from my pocket while I was sleeping or working hard at my job. I was greeted by a hostile woman who insisted that it was indeed me who ordered a get-rich-quick informational DVD about how to scam Google for cash or some other baloney. (This was the $39.95) I also had some sort of monthy charge for $7.97 that showed up as, ” WWW FEDGRANTUSA COM(Dining and Entertainment) ” for which I have no idea. The $7.95 was subsequently returned to me for the last two months that I had been charged, but I’m still waiting on the $39.95.
If you visit fedgrantusa.com, you are presented with two options: Fraud recovery or I’m an idiot, let me in. If you proceed down the idiot’s path of doom, it leads you to http://www.grantmemberssite.com/
To say the least, I’m pretty upset with this company, and I encourage anyone who reads this posting to watch their back and maybe do their own research on these bottom feeding leeches. Here’s a bit of information to help you get started:
FedGrantUSA.com’s Grand Dragon ringleader is “Dr.” John Porter.
If I saw him walking down the street, I would sidle up, fart loudly, take his wallet, remove exactly $39.95 + $7.95 + $7.95 + $7.95 + etc… and then sell his credit cards to the nearest bum for a nickel just so he could tast a bit of his own medicine. After that, I’d invite him to a party at my house where all the victims of his sham company could meet him face to fist..I mean face.
A few interesting things I’ve dug up online:
435-773-1795 - supposedly a direct line to some customer service nit.
Given email was customerservice@cshelp.org –so I visited cshelp.org, but their servers are down due to the heat from the friction of extracting stolen credit card information.
1-800-487-6815 Fedgrantusa.com’s customer service number where you can be belligerantly bullied into hearing a sales pitch for the very scam that you were probably a victim of. I find this an excellent number to call from a public restroom and complain about the cleanliness and lack of toilet paper…pretty much anything on my mind. Gibberish is fun too.
And here’s a blog entry from another victim who may have found the leak that started my woes:
Inside the Outside describing how a popular online bike store threw open their security gates to hordes of spammers and crooks…I’m guessing just for kicks.(I too am a was a bike nashbar customer)

Category:
hahaha your post is hilarious.
PROFITGGL8882164952(Other) is gglprofit.com and googlemoneyprofit.com - part of Raven Media / Summit Group:
http://www.callferret.com/866-530-3502.html
Their Grand Dragon ringleader is Ryan Riddle and they are a bunch of scammers, check out the dirt on them and their ilk at:
http://strangelyperfect.tv/4308/google-revolution-different-name-same-scam/
Great info, thanks for the links!
hey, guess what, they are charging my child support with this crap. i want to know who to contact so i can get them off mine. guess i will get a hold of the better business bureau and turn them in. i have never been to their site, so they are getting numbers off the net folks. watch your credit card statements. i will also talk to our local police department to file charges.
i just got my cd and it will not do anything.they just riped me off. the us goverment is makeing money of off us american
how do i get my money back from them
I contacted my credit card company to cancel the charges, but I wasn’t the one who initiated the transaction…it sounds like you actually purchased this on purpose.
Also, it isn’t the US Government that’d behind the scam. The weasels are just using a somewhat official sounding name in hopes that it’ll trick more people into falling for their deceit.
Sometimes those credit card companies do that to me too! I barely use mine and yet I see charges which I do not know where it came from.
Ha Ha, Tinkering Monkey.
I had to laugh because that’s the funniest description of these scammy tactics I’ve seen!
If you visit fedgrantusa.com, you are presented with two options: Fraud recovery or I’m an idiot, let me in. If you proceed down the idiot’s path of doom, it leads you to http://www.grantmemberssite.com/ - it’s just so funny and yet horribly true. There are heaps of folks that have been relieved of excess weight in their pockets by scammers like this.
I’ve found two interesting and contradictory links on John Porter. This one:
http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/dr-john-porter039s-grant-funding-search-program-on-free-cd-c81556.html
…actually includes a reply from a Dr John Porter of the “American Grant Writers’ Association, Inc”, something that YOUR Porter claims to be a member of. He says your guy is a fraud and the picture isn’t him anyway. This organisation is here:
http://www.agwa.us/aboutus
The other link:
http://www.ripoffreport.com/Con-Artists/B-S-M-SBAExpress/bsm-sbaexpress-grant-writer-p-6fbq8.htm
…has a reply from someone at the call centre saying everything is all above board and that THEIR Dr John Porter ..
“is a licensed and certified grant writer”
To me, there are two things with this.
1. I know which one to believe the most given yours and others’ experiences.
2. Do Americans really need to be licensed to openly talk about something? It just seems really odd coming from the land of the free, doesn’t it?